1and1

Visit 1and1 Visit 1and1   Write your own 1and1 review. Write your own 1and1 review.
18 out of 182 (or 10% of) people recommend 1and1.
 › Rating Averages ››
Uptime & Reliability Server & Connection Speed Price Value for Money
4.64 / 10.0 4.98 / 10.0 2.95 / 10.0
Technical Support & Knowledge Customer Service & Billing
2.34 / 10.0 2.03 / 10.0
1and1
› Overall Rating ››    21.17% 
How are ratings calculated? 
  • Analyze this Page for Me
Showing 91 to 100 out of 182 reviews.   Filter Reviews
Page Relevancy
Review Quality 100%
What's
this?
1 2  ...  6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15  ...  18 19

1and1 reviews

uptime & reliability
1.00
server & connection speed
5.90
technical support & knowledge
4.00
customer service & billing
1.60
price value for money
5.00
* ratings are out of 10

1and1.co nightmare!

I currently have owned a .co.uk domain with 1and1 which has been hosted by another provider. This has been for the period of about one year. Not too much problems with that. Ever since I tried to register a new .co domain through 1and1 to the same hosting company(they allowed me to register several .co's in fact) they have informed me that the .co is currently 'not compatible' with the other nameservers I provided, that they are trying to rectify this, to edit the DNS, and simply cannot give me any specific timescale. I now have no website and it has been two weeks and I have to change the name of my business to a less suitable domain in order to have a webiste!!!!!! I have cancelled my other domains but apparently this takes 60 days before you can register this with another provider - that's if your old domain name is still available! after 60 days!!??? Corruption is rife!

Biggest Pro: They pcik up the phone quick to tell you what you already know
Biggest Con: expensive .co domain names that don't work!

1and1 is NOT recommended by Jay Arnott. This person does NOT recommend 1and1.
› Overall Rating ››    3.00% 
Reviewed on October 21st, 2010 at 15:00 EST by Jay Arnott
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 92.41.168.226
Type of Plan: Semi Dedicated   Platform: webcreationUK   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #91 out of 182 1and1 reviews
uptime & reliability
0.10
server & connection speed
0.10
technical support & knowledge
0.10
customer service & billing
0.10
price value for money
0.10
* ratings are out of 10

1and1.com is the worst!!!

Watch out they automatically bill you for a full year renewal of your domain even when you want to cancel the domain.
I have contacted them via email several times and have had no response from them.
The phone numbers they have posted are no longer in service or ring busy all the time.

This is completely unacceptable and horrible customer service. I was referred to 1and1.com and will never use them again.

They will not be in business much longer with this kind of business model.

BUYER BEWARE!!!!!!!>.....

Biggest Con: RUN..RUN..RUN..RUN...

1and1 is NOT recommended by Tylor. This person does NOT recommend 1and1.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on October 11th, 2010 at 17:58 EST by Tylor
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 98.191.97.4
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Windows   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #92 out of 182 1and1 reviews
uptime & reliability
5.00
server & connection speed
5.00
technical support & knowledge
1.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
1.00
* ratings are out of 10

Ransomed my deceased brother's domain name

My brother owned two domains and had hosting service with 1and1. He passed away in 2008 and at the time we didn't realize he actually owned the domains, only that he had been working on developing a website with someone else. Apparently his hosting service was paid through sometime in late 2009 since the site was no longer accessible then. Soon after we realized the domain was in his name and it was up for renewal in March 2010. I contacted 1and1 about transferring ownership of the domain name to his estate representative.

They initially told us told us the only way we could take ownership of the domain was to pay for the past due balance on the hosting account (nevermind that the site went down as soon as the hosting plan wasn't renew).

Then they told us they would make an exception, but we would have to open a web hosting account with them, so they had an "active" account to transfer it too.

I purchase it on my own after it expired. Wished I had notified ICANN!!

1and1 is NOT recommended by sharon Goodson. This person does NOT recommend 1and1.
› Overall Rating ››    10.00% 
Reviewed on October 5th, 2010 at 23:11 EST by sharon Goodson
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 years
IP Address: 99.175.78.156
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.clangingmonkey.com/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #93 out of 182 1and1 reviews
uptime & reliability
0.00
server & connection speed
0.00
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

1and1.com sucks

If you're thinking about doing business with 1 and 1 internet, then you may want to reconsider after your done reading this article.

1 And 1 Internet provides a range of services from web and dedicated servers. They are considered one of the worse companies in the U.S when it comes to providing technical support and customer services.

If you're thinking about getting a dedicated server with them, then do not expect to receive very technical support. If you try asking a simple question about Plesk that is installed on their servers, you will get a response we do not support it.

Comparing the price on the dedicated servers with the other providers listed on google.com, 1 And 1 Internet is way over price. You can compare some of the prices using this link http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&source=hp&q=cheap+dedicaed+linux+servers&aq=f&aqi=m1&aql=&oq=&gs_rfai= or go to http://www.santrex.com.

1 And 1 Internet can even do a simple process of syncing there email between their billing and cancellation system that is used to cancel your account.

If you want to make a complaint against the company do no except a response from 1 And 1 Internet.

If you have a complaint about 1 And 1 Internet, then you should file your complaint by going to http://www.bbb.org. They will listen to you and they keep a total numbers of complaints that they receive against the companies.

As of October 4, 2007 here is total number of complaints that have been filed against 1 And 1 Internet Inc.


Find out more about this business:
Reported on Tuesday, October 5, 2010 3:56 PM
* BBB Accreditation
* BBB Rating
* Business Contact and Profile
* Alternate Business Names
* Additional Locations and Phone Numbers
* Licensing
* Customer Complaint History
* Government Actions
* Advertising Review
* Additional Information
BBB Accreditation
Back To Top
This business has not been accredited by BBB.
Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.
To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.
BBB Rating
Back To Top
Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of F
Click here for an explanation of BBB Ratings.
Reasons for this rating include:
* Number of complaints filed against business
* Failure to respond to complaints filed against business
* Number of complaints filed against business that were unresolved
* Number of serious complaints filed against business
* Overall complaint history with BBB
Business Contact and Profile
Back To Top
Name: 1 And 1 Internet, Inc.
Phone: (877) 461-2631
Address: 701 Lee Road, Suite 300, Chesterbrook, PA 19087
Google map Mapquest map Yahoo map

Business Category: Internet Services
eMail: sales@1and1.com

BBB file opened: December 31, 2003
Business started: May 2003
Business started locally: May 2003
Primary Contact: Mr. Oliver Mauss (CEO)
Complaint Contact: Mr. Joseph Quinn (Complaints Director)
Other Contacts: Mr. Frederick Iwons (U.S. General Manager)
Mr. Dirk Moreno (V.P. Customer Care)
Alternate Business Names
Back To Top
1 & 1 Internet Inc
1 and 1
1&1
Additional Locations and Phone Numbers
Back To Top
(610) 560-1507 (FAX)
Customer Complaint History
Back To Top
The company's size, volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by the BBB. The complaints filed against a company may not be as important as the type of complaints, and how the company has handled them. The BBB generally does not pass judgment on the validity of complaints filed.
Number of complaints processed by the BBB
in the last 36 months: 806
in the last 12 months: 249
Complaints Concerned:
Selling Practices (66 complaints)
46 Resolved
1 Unresolved
1 Company made every reasonable effort to resolve
18 Company did not respond

Advertising Issues (17 complaints)
13 Resolved
2 Unresolved
2 Company did not respond

Service Issues (113 complaints)
91 Resolved
3 Unresolved
5 Company made every reasonable effort to resolve
14 Company did not respond

Customer Service Issues (3 complaints)
1 Resolved
2 Unresolved

Credit or Billing Disputes (464 complaints)
336 Resolved
33 Unresolved
16 Company made every reasonable effort to resolve
79 Company did not respond

Delivery Issues (16 complaints)
11 Resolved
1 Company made every reasonable effort to resolve
4 Company did not respond

Refund Practices (49 complaints)
38 Resolved
1 Delayed Resolution
1 Company made every reasonable effort to resolve
9 Company did not respond

Product Quality (10 complaints)
10 Resolved

Contract Disputes (52 complaints)
39 Resolved
2 Company made every reasonable effort to resolve
11 Company did not respond

Guarantee or Warranty Issues (9 complaints)
6 Resolved
1 Company made every reasonable effort to resolve
2 Company did not respond

Repair Issues (7 complaints)
7 Resolved

Government Actions
Back To Top
The BBB has no information regarding Government Actions at this time.
Advertising Review
Back To Top
The BBB has no information regarding Ad Reviews at this time.
As a matter of policy, the BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.
BBB Reliability Reports are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Reliability Report is believed reliable, but not guaranteed as to accuracy.
BBB Reliability Reports generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Reliability Reports are subject to change at any time.
If you choose to do business with this business, please let the business know that you contacted the BBB for a BBB Reliability Report.
ID: 1040770
Report as of: 10/5/2010 3:56 PM

The CEO of 1and1.com has no control over there employees and they treat there customers like shit.

The link for the site is http://www.dc.bbb.org/report.html?national=y&compid=1040770

You can you also reach me on irc.cyberchatnet.com

1and1 is NOT recommended by phillip taylor. This person does NOT recommend 1and1.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on October 5th, 2010 at 18:23 EST by phillip taylor
Customer for duration of 6 - 11 months
IP Address: 68.106.145.84
Type of Plan: Dedicated   Platform: Linux   Domain: http://www.cyberchatnet.com/   Email: plt2007@gmx.com
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
18 out of 18 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #94 out of 182 1and1 reviews
uptime & reliability
0.00
server & connection speed
0.00
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

how crap are 1 and 1

Extra fees, bad telephone representative, long server down time
My website was down about 2 days every week, with weird errors like 500 error (which is server side error) or simply no response.
I used it to host several simple html pages and I dont think that will cause the super long down time.

After 1.5 years I finally decided to move away from 1and1 and cancelled my account 3 weeks in advance.

However, they still sent me a bill of 5 dollars after my cancellation of the service, and when I tried to call the sales representative, they kept giving me an attitude and transferring me around the department, just to save that 5 dollars. (and their sales representative's accent is intolerable).

Hope my extra fees, bad experience from telephone representative and server down time can persuade you away from them. Don't be fooled by their "promotion" and self-claimed cheap price.


i'v had the same with them DON'T USE THEM there crap

Biggest Pro: none
Biggest Con: all of it

1and1 is NOT recommended by rob. This person does NOT recommend 1and1.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on September 30th, 2010 at 08:08 EST by rob
Customer for duration of 1 - 2 years
IP Address: 82.45.102.4
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
19 out of 19 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #95 out of 182 1and1 reviews
uptime & reliability
7.00
server & connection speed
6.50
technical support & knowledge
1.00
customer service & billing
8.00
price value for money
6.00
* ratings are out of 10

Dishonest

I've used 1and1 for years, and as long as the help I needed was over the phone it's no problem. Issues arose when I needed some real support. I was in the process of moving moving my domains from 1and1 to a new host that supported ASP.net 3.5 when they came out with the deal that for a 1 year contract you could get Dreamweaver free. Great deal! So I took it and moved my domains over. It's been a month now and STILL NO DREAMWEAVER!!! All I get is a canned we're working on it response. The funny thing is I've just taken over administering a Baptist association's website that includes 161 members, and will be taking those sites to a new host, but certainly not this one!

Biggest Pro: Price I guess
Biggest Con: Technical support stinks

1and1 is NOT recommended by Lonnie Rudd. This person does NOT recommend 1and1.
› Overall Rating ››    40.00% 
Reviewed on September 27th, 2010 at 13:09 EST by Lonnie Rudd
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 years
IP Address: 66.210.88.169
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Windows   Domain: http://www.thebaptistpage.net/   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #96 out of 182 1and1 reviews
uptime & reliability
3.00
server & connection speed
2.00
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

0

After many horrible months with a website badly hosted by 1&1.com I canceled my account but STUPIDLY left my domain registered with 1&1 and the domain expired with NO NOTICE despite my contact information remaining current. I found out the website was down from a puzzled customer who could no longer access the site. My other domains are all registered with BlueHost and they very kindly send a renewal notice. When I called 1&1 they told me I have to file a redemption request and pay $40 to get my domain back. I also have to wait 5 or more business days. When I told them this was terrible customer service to hold my domain name and refuse to let me transfer it or renew it immediately, the customer service agent HUNG UP ON ME.

1&1 is a dismal hosting company for many reasons besides this, including dreadful technical support, multiple programming glitches and lack of features for the cost of hosting, but this absolutely takes the cake.

1and1 is NOT recommended by Debby. This person does NOT recommend 1and1.
› Overall Rating ››    10.00% 
Reviewed on September 23rd, 2010 at 14:18 EST by Debby
Customer for duration of 6 - 11 months
IP Address: 71.63.93.64
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #97 out of 182 1and1 reviews
uptime & reliability
6.00
server & connection speed
5.50
technical support & knowledge
1.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
1.00
* ratings are out of 10

DO NOT HOST HERE - Terrible customer service

DO NOT HOST HERE - seriously.

Their hosting service is average, but their customer service is the worst I have ever seen. I canceled my account with them and yet, they still feel the need to charge me for services I neither want nor received.

They will automatically sign you up for a 1 year contract – they did this to me after I spoke with a CS agent while I was signing up and specifically said I wanted a month-to-month plan.

On top of it all, their customer service agents AND MANAGERS are rude beyond belief. The manager I spoke with was Damien Christopher, who apparently is a 20-something year old kid with a serious attitude problem. It amazes me that this company promoted someone that immature and disrespectful to a managerial role.

Trust me – there are more important things in life, and there are better host providers out there. It’s just not worth it – move on and find another host. You’ll be better off.

1and1 is NOT recommended by J.H.. This person does NOT recommend 1and1.
› Overall Rating ››    10.00% 
Reviewed on September 14th, 2010 at 19:20 EST by J.H.
Customer for duration of 6 - 11 months
IP Address: 24.61.84.175
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
18 out of 18 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #98 out of 182 1and1 reviews
uptime & reliability
2.00
server & connection speed
2.00
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

Dreadful customer care - stay well away!!

I am so fed up with 1and1 that I'm leaving them. Unfortunately, I'm having difficulty communicating this to the call centre! It is in the Philippines and they use the worst headsets known to man. When you call the centre for support, you're faced with inaudible robotic and oddly squeaky mutterings which sound a bit like this "glawgloer wamug ... domain name ... rwarioii mawue ... control panel". The combination of bad English and poor headsets means that you spend 35 infuriating minutes trying to get one question answered (and of course you are paying for the long phone call!). I don't know how I've put up with it for so long! I'm off.

Biggest Pro: None
Biggest Con: The awful call centre

1and1 is NOT recommended by A . This person does NOT recommend 1and1.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on September 13th, 2010 at 12:34 EST by A
Customer for duration of 3 - 5 years
IP Address: 86.182.65.164
Type of Plan: Shared   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #99 out of 182 1and1 reviews
uptime & reliability
7.00
server & connection speed
8.00
technical support & knowledge
0.00
customer service & billing
0.00
price value for money
0.00
* ratings are out of 10

Avoid like the plague

Their services are reasonably cheap, and if you do not require technical support then they're great. But if for some reason you run into a situation where human contact is required on behalf of 1&1, you might as well just move to another host. The english language is not capable of describing how poor their customer service really is. Beyond being ill informed, or just not knowledgeable, if they don't know an answer they will just make something up. If for some reason you have a domain transfer issue that gets escalated, they'll tell you a resolution time frame is 24 to 48 hours. So far, that time frame has meant 3-4 weeks for me.

I was a customer for the better part of 10 years, and didn't have too much trouble until recently when I ran into financial troubles and website hosting became a low priority. My account fell behind and was sent to collections, but once I got back on my feet I called them up to pay them the outstanding balance. I was told that I caught it right on time because my account was due for deletion in 3 weeks. I paid the balance, in full, and they told me that it would take 3 business days to process, and my services would be turned back on. After 2 weeks of fighting with them, and being told different things by different reps, I decided to move my domains to another registrar. A Rep gave me the auth codes and "unlocked" the domains. I have been unable to move my domains, but I have been told that the case has been "escalated" to the transfers department, and they will handle it and unlock my domains for me. That was a week ago, and I have yet to hear anything. I am still unable to transfer my domains.

According to ICANN rules, they are not allowed to hold the domains hostage like this. I have filed a complaint with ICANN, and will be filing one with the BBB shortly. The BBB gives 1&1 an F.

1and1 is NOT recommended by Brett Haddock. This person does NOT recommend 1and1.
› Overall Rating ››    0.00% 
Reviewed on September 9th, 2010 at 12:22 EST by Brett Haddock
Customer for duration of More than 5 years
IP Address: 98.148.3.17
Type of Plan: Dedicated   Platform: Linux   Domain: [withheld]   Email: [withheld]
Write your own review. Write your own review.  
Was the above review helpful to you? (help) Yes No
18 out of 18 people found this review helpful.
End of Review #100 out of 182 1and1 reviews
1 2  ...  6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15  ...  18 19
link to this page   |   tell a friend about this web host
Host Gator - Host Unlimited Web Sites
Reseller Hosting - 50% Off
Host Unlimited Sites
Free Dedicated IP & Backups
90 Day Money Back Guarantee
Try it out for just $13.99/mo.
InMotion Hosting

Read what users say about InMotion Hosting!


For Users
Web Hosting Reviews
Submit Review
Advanced Search
All Web Hosts
Top Rated

Our Difference
Contact


Free Newsletter
For Hosts
Host Log-in
Create Account
Generate Links
Get More Exposure


New Reviews
Go Daddy
000webhost
Just Host
WebHostingPad
EasyCGI
BlueFur
SkyNet Hosting
Arvixe
HostSo
VPSDepot
ADDR
Lunarpages
Quick2Host
WebIntellects
KVC Hosting
SiteGround
A Small Orange
ServerSea
StoresOnline
HostPapa


Other
Website Thumbnails
This site is powered by Host Gator.
Copyright © 1999-2016 WebHostingReviews.com. All Rights Reserved.
All reviews, content, graphics, logos, design, and scripts, are the sole property of WebHostingReviews.com, and
may not be used without prior written consent from us. All violations will be prosecuted to the maximum extent possible under the law.
Last Update: June 20th, 2016 at 15:01 EST / This site has a total of 3,441 web hosting reviews, based on 529 different web hosting companies.